Why You’re Not Achieving Your Goals

*DISCLAIMER: I’m not a hot-shot successful individual. I’m an 18-year-old university drop-out who has too much input on this for what her successful standards can care*

We all have our own little (or big) dreams or personal goals. Some we share and others we just keep to ourselves because perhaps we think it’s too big and too impossible and so we’d rather save the embarrassment of telling people – who just might smirk with mild support and a disbelieving remark.

Whatever it may be, there is something we all want. From a higher paying job, get fit, starting a business, cutting out a bad habit like smoking, completing studies or pushing yourself to try new things like sky-diving or bungee jumping. I’ve blogged about my 10 goals for 2016. I don’t intend to complete all of them in the final 6 months of this year. But I will and am working towards them.

Stop focusing on other people.

We all focus too much on what other people are doing. We inundate ourselves with feeds and updates of other people. This can be a problem. You see, whilst it may seem like someone is having a great time via social media, you’re probably forgetting that they’re showing you exactly what they (want) you to see. If you spent your time focusing on them, you’re not working on you. You’re wasting time and burning out goals. Of course, we have lots of time to do what we want. Ok, not all the time in the world as old age can pull the plug on some, but that’s not to say you can’t try. You will lose sight of what you want by looking in the wrong place. Don’t let people distract you from what you want.

You doubt yourself.

How many ideas have you had within the past few months that you’ve scrapped because you didn’t think you had it in you to achieve it? Many, I assume. We are our own worst enemies and usually, it’s nobody but ourselves holding us back. The greatest of people within society and even those who have passed started off with a goal. It sounds cliche, I know. But it doesn’t change the fact that it’s true. If you work hard and continue working, you have a better chance of succeeding in what you want, than those sitting doubting themselves. This isn’t all bad though. Doubt is reasonably healthy. Just try to learn how to work past them. Believe in your goal. No matter how big or small. Because if you don’t, nobody else will.

Failure.

It’s hard to keep going when failure hits. It sucks and sometimes it hurts. You wonder if there is any point in trying again. Usually, people don’t. This is the case with millions of people each year trying to get fit. They don’t see results and, before you know it, they’ve sold their gym weights for a popcorn machine in their house. Let failure be a stepping stone. For it really is. I’m trying to change my perspective of failure too. If you fail, it means you tried and so you have a better chance of getting it right the next time. Keep going. Fail again. And again. And again after that. If you don’t succeed, fair enough. But you’re getting better at what you do.

*****

Do what you need to do, to get to where you want to be. Sometimes it means spending less time with family, or ditching a few friends. Staying up late and working until sunrise. It’s not a race; but if you do nothing, you’re not going to reach the finish line. Believe in your goals, no matter how ridiculous they sound to others.

One of my goals for this blog is to gain 100 followers by the end of this year and reach 1000 hits. Do you have goals for your blog or just life in general? If so, what are you doing about it?

Fyza.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. hayley says:

    Ahhh I love posts like this!
    I’m feeling all inspired and motivated.

    I quit my job this year because it made me miserable and am now setting up my own business. It’s tough and I always wonder if I am doing the right thing but I am really enjoying it. I love learning and this is going to be a big learning curve.

    If you want to do something there is nothing stopping you from making it happen RIGHT NOW.

    Totally agree about getting caught up in comparing myself to others. Doing this is such a waste of time. I dread to think how much time I have wasted scrolling through Instagram. We should be using this time to better ourselves and work on our dreams.

    Hayley | hayleyxmartin

    Like

    1. Faye says:

      Ahh thank you!! I’m glad it was helpful in any way. That’s also incredible, good luck with it all. Oh, same here! I’d rather not think about it haha. Thank you for reading xx

      Like

  2. Courtney says:

    I love what you mentioned about Failure here. It’s the very thing I have been working on lately, because it used to be extremely hard for me to let things go! If I had this certain standard for myself and I fell short of that, I would just no longer try anymore cause I failed. As you mentioned here, it really is so important to keep going though!

    Like

    1. Faye says:

      I feel like we often don’t address it for what it is, without following up a list of negative feelings/references. I think everyone has those moments. Important to set achievable goals yet still push yourself. If you fall short, just keep trying until you get it 🙂

      Like

  3. I really related to this post! One of the reasons I’m not writing the things I want to be writing, is definitely because I’m afraid I can’t do it and the expectations and doubts I have are killing my inspiration before I’ve even put pen to paper! Great post:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. FyzaZubs says:

      Thank you for the feedback, I really appreciate it! That’s one of the main problems I have myself. I put too much pressure on myself. It’s a journey and we’ll get better the more we try and work for it 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment