What It’s like Living in the City

I moved out to a city-based university last sept. My accommodation was placed in the heart of Bristol where all I was required to do was step outside and the city was beneath my feet.

I loved it.

I loved everything from the traffic that found itself outside my window, specifically during rush hour on a Friday night, to the late night wanderers screaming at each other after midnight. It was part of the city vibe and for that I loved it. It became background noise and eventually by the end of my 10 month stay during the university year, I hardly noticed it until family or friends stayed over and asked me how I slept with all the noise. I got used to it.

It became a comfort. When I first moved in, the noise of the city was all I had to take me away from the silence (and at first, accompanying isolation) of the room. A distraction of some sort. It filled the emptiness of the flat as I was one of the first people to move in.

The city is generally vibrant and busy, loud and eventful. It’s a happy city and I never felt like an outsider when I moved; which is great.

As pleasant as the vibrant city is, it’s difficult not the notice the number of homeless individuals sleeping on the streets. There’s an alarming amount. I found that the more I took a wander around the city, the more I saw them. It’s upsetting to see, and that too so many. There was one, and then two. As I turned corners and cut edges the few I saw became 5 maybe 6 in the space of 60ish minutes. It’s hard to see and even harder to just walk away.

There were several moments during my stay in the city where I helped people out when I could, from buying them food to giving them a simple smile of acknowledgement on the streets. It may not be much but to them, I assumed it would mean something. To feel less invisible. More recognised and seen. Most importantly – to feel seen.

What I undoubtedly love is how everything’s outside my doorstep. If I need to buy something from the shopping centre, I don’t have to endure a 20 bus ride, but simply walk around the corner and there I am.

Even for the most mundane (student) situations. Like running out of milk at 7 am (not that I ever got up that early ha) was easily fixed with a pyjama run to the nearest convenience store. Or the crisis of wanting chocolate at quarter to 12 at night. And I kid you not, there was a store next door – a few seconds away! 

Despite the expense, after being located in the city for over a year I have to say I prefer it. You feel more present and involved. I can’t wait to go back for my second year!

Fyza.

18 thoughts on “What It’s like Living in the City

  1. Love this post! I live just outside Brighton, so I’ve got the great balance of city life, seaside culture and countryside literally 10 minutes up the road. I know what you mean about being “present”. I really feel in the thick of life when I’m in the city. It is lovely to have a break sometimes and recharge somewhere quiet though!

    Carrie x
    http://www.thelipsticktrail.com

    Like

    1. I’ve never been to Brighton but it looks so nice! So i defo want to pay a visit. It’s such a nice feeling being in the midst of everything but I totally agree, I do still like coming home. It’s a chance of pace x

      Like

  2. Excellent read. I absolutely loved how you focused on small details like the noise and little things that might be overlooked by the average person. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Ah that’s sounds so amazing!! I visited the U.K. and fell in love with that!

    I agree, you’re in such an amazing location to be in the heart of the city!

    I’m glad you feel so secure and have personal feeling towards your ‘second home’!

    Like

Leave a Reply

