Racism: My Response

Apart from the cryptic racist with undervalued, ignorant opinions, the average person just wants to go about their daily business without any significant hassle disrupting their routine. No ones after drama. or stress. or dispute.

People who seek the contrary are a small representation of humans and the fortitude we carry amongst our day to day lives. I recognise that.

Despite this, I acknowledge that I may be hated, or, disliked – to put it nicely.

It can’t go unnoticed, well, because you see it. It’s the colour/shade/tone of my skin. I’m brown. A minority. And an outcast to some.

I’m hated by many, yet a significant few. A representation of individuals who would rather judge me based on the amount of melanin in my skin, than the character I portray and the person that I am. That’s what it narrows down to, from many of my experiences anyways.

That’s not okay.

Yet, still – it is.

I don’t/can’t control what people lay eyes on and choose to believe in the media, or the attitudes they practice and observe. That’s okay. I can’t change people’s opinions, nor can I be liked by all. That’s also okay.

It’s deeply upsetting to witness racism, even more so, when experiencing it. But it’s also important to accept these alternative opinions people will have of me.

Sometimes it’s easier to accept the ignorance of others than to fight against it. And I know they’re ignorant, because who else is stupid enough to judge and discriminate against the colour of someone’s skin. I’ll tell you who – a bigot. a racist. an ignorant, uneducated fool.

When I was younger, I grew to become slightly apprehensive, maybe even somewhat embarrassed (not the words I want to use specifically, but currently failing to find the right words.) – that my skin was slightly darker than the majority and I only ever felt this way in certain situations. Not extensively, let me add. It was a passing thought. I think I’d become more aware of our differences. Also, my local area was and still remains to be diverse and multicultural.

My point is, I become uncomfortable.

But now, at the ripe age of 19, I refuse to ever let anyone make me feel less worthy, less important or less whole. If I am where I am today, it’s because I’ve developed a type of resilience and toughness. Where before I would shy away and close myself off when confronted by a bigot, I now stand tall and speak up.

I’m a brown girl and I’m comfortable with. If you’re not, that’s your issue – not mine.

Love all.

Fyza.

18 thoughts on “Racism: My Response

  1. I love this post so much honestly, it can be so hard to love your own skin when so much of society wants to tell you that you shouldn’t, but we literally all deserve to be proud of who we are and only ignorant bigots will disagree, and what they think doesn’t matter at all 🙆🏾💃🏾

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well said! I (a white girl from a median income family) was always taught to see people for who they are and not what they look like. I smiled when I read your mention of melanin. I literally say that exact same statement all the time. Humans are so intelligent and yet make ignorant choices based on the amount of pigment to someone’s skin. It baffles me. My only hope is to breed that type of thinking out of society. I’m sure we will think of something else by then to fight over lol. It’s not funny, but it is. Gotta take like in stride. Love the post!

    -Staci
    http://gingeredstate.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Staci! I totally agree, it baffles my mind how some people perceive it as an issue or something which significantly differentiates one human to the next. So ignorant and stupid x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with what you said as a fellow brown girl. When I was younger, and people made inappropriate comments about my skin tone, I need to be embarrassed and not say anything, however now I tell them why what they said wasn’t okay. Great post!

    Like

    1. I’m glad it’s something we as people of colour (and women) have grown to stand up against. It’s wrong to have to experience it so I’m sorry you could relate, though I knew I wasn’t the only one. Thank you for your comment x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the message here and I also love the way you write because your personality shines through. I admire your confidence and completely agree: if someone has got a problem with your skin colour, that says more about them than it does about you!

    Meg x | the-writeblog.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

