Like A Girl

#InternationalWomensDay

Today is a vital day in continuing to recognise the fundamental importance of standing strong as a women, supporting others and keeping a voice. One of the reasons why I exercise my freedom of expression is to fulfil the privilege I have of simply obtaining one.

I’m free to express myself, vocally, physically, creatively

– in whatever manner I find myself.

I acknowledge that some, unfortunately, do not share these privileges. I write for those who cannot. I speak for those who don’t know what to say. I express myself because I can.

In the wise, yet youthful words of Malala Yousafzai,

I speak not for myself but for those without a voice. For those who have fought for their rights. Their right to live in peace, treated with dignity, equality of opportunity and their right to be educated.

Be kind. Be prosperous. Be like a girl.

Fyza.

4 thoughts on “Like A Girl

  1. This is great 🙂 women should stand together. I know it’s just a comedy movie, but I love that quote from Mean Girls:

    “you gotta stop calling each other sluts and whores… Otherwise it just makes it ok for guys to call you sluts and whores.”

    We get enough pushback from some men in this world. We have to have each others’ backs ✌🏼

    Like

Leave a Reply

