Thoughts on the Muslim Ban

I’d be taking my freedom of expression and articulation for grated if I weren’t to discuss a matter as consequential as this.

I can choose to stay silent and follow the pattern of mediocrity and simplicity. But I won’t. I chose to discuss the darkness, edge and ugliness of different matters – especially if I’m (in)directly affected by them.

Your views and opinions may differ to mine – and rightly so they should. This is my platform to discuss what I want, in whatever way I want (whilst carefully choosing my words.)

My posts will discuss what the majority don’t want to get involved in. If I hold a ground of rightful contribution, I will deliver my thoughts. Here goes.

Trumps Muslim Ban.

I’m ironically lost for words.

Within the first week of Donald Trump taking the office, a calamity of orders and ignorance has passed through not only within the USA but the world.

In all forms of ignorance, discrimination and hatred, Trump has imposed an executive order to ban individuals from 7 majority Muslim countries from entering the US, for a period of 90 days. Countries include Syria, Iraq, Sudan, Iran, Somalia, Libya and Yemen – including those with dual nationalities.

We’re a nation growing in division and having studied history before, it’s unfathomable that individuals fail to recognise repeated occurrences within history.

Did we not learn anything? Has education gone in vain?

I intend to make this blog as non-religious as possible. It’s not a religious blog but I will comfortably say that I am a Muslim. I hold Islamic beliefs. Always have and always will (not up for discussion.)

It angers me. It angers me as much as it does to a non-Muslim when terrorism occurs within society. I’m affected by it just as much, if not more. Because I am a target. My existence and my choice of life is disputed by many. My existence is hated by many.

I’ll refrain from getting too political, as, despite my willingness to discuss anything, I have limits that I choose not to cross.

Sure. I could do. But I won’t.

It’s adversities like this that should bring us together. Be kind. Be respectful. Be wise.

A quick note to say: don’t believe everything you read or watch. Question it. Challenge it. Do your research. Education yourself.

I took part in the #StandUpToTrump demonstration that took place in Bristol. With a day to prepare, members of the community gathered to a staggering thousands (approx). You can’t change things on your own, but there are strengths in numbers.

For those who say “The anti trump protests won’t achieve anything.”

Here’s a thought.

If you assume you can’t do anything, and don’t do something, nothing will get done.

I acknowledge that this post seems weak in content, order and articulation. With so much to say, I’ve had to condense it down and convey one message.

In all honesty, I don’t know how to end this post, so here’s a quote to feed your thoughts.

“Solidarity does not assume that our struggles are the same struggles, or that our pain is the same pain, or that our hope is for the same future. Solidarity involves commitment, and work, as well as the recognition that even if we do not have the same feelings, or the same lives, or the same bodies, we do live on common ground.” – Sara Ahmed.

Side note: I’ll be starting #Fydays – where every Friday I will upload a post. Sometimes as political and important as this. Others, to simply check in. I hope you decide to come back every week.

Fyza.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Muslim Ban

Leave a Reply

