Leaving University

492e677ba588b95666f335dff2678048
*Tries to hide shocked face by taking a deep breath*

“Oh, that’s… ha… why did you drop out?!”

-the reaction I get from almost anyone that finds out I’ve dropped out.

I questioned my choice of institution several times over the course of my few months at university. Even before I had moved there, I had a bit of doubt about my decision. But, I didn’t want to sit back and take a gap year at the time. I wanted to move forward and take the next step towards my education.

September 2015 I moved to university and it was pretty good. I had really nice flat mates and the city was perfect! But I didn’t quite settle with the university itself. The university isn’t bad. But, for whatever reason, it wasn’t for me and I didn’t like it much. It was around October when I thought of changing my course, as universities give this as an option for students who wish to change. But I assumed my course choice wasn’t the problem. And it wasn’t. Not really.

I had lingering thoughts of leaving but the prospect seemed too big and risky to take. So I just worked through it. “It just might be nerves.”. “I’m still settling in”. But it still wasn’t right. I know I wanted to be at a university I was sure of, or one which suited my wants/needs more. Anyone who was paying 9 grand a year, would. I didn’t resign to the idea of dropping out so soon. I worked hard for my assignments and I revised when I needed to.

I had gone home for the Christmas holidays and returned to uni straight after to start my revision for the exams I had in January. Ironically, it was during the same week of returning to uni for my exams, that I made the formal decision to leave.

I remember knocking on my flatmates door to let her know that I would probably be leaving soon. She was unaware that I was thinking of leaving. I hadn’t moved out of my accommodation until a month or so later, so we had time to chill out and enjoy our time – as I did with all my friends that I had made during my short stay. Needless to say, we were disheartened by my decision. My parents and family also had absolutely no idea, so it came to them as a bit of a shock. After several phone conversations and their attempts to understand why or try to make me reconsider, they gave in and let me make my decision.

One of my flatmates had left university before me, so I contacted her and asked her for the process. Thanks to her, it was pretty simple. I contacted my personal tutor, head of department and let them know. Had a Skype conversation with my PT and got her support and well wishes for the future. Filled out a university withdrawal form, had a phone call with money and debt advisers and boom, I’ve officially quit university – just days after the new year.

I intend to go back to the University of Bristol in September of this year. Needless to say that I am looking forward to it.

My university experience lasted for 4 months. I still had a good time, made some really good friends and share memories with some cool people. I will be returning to the same city so I’ll still have the friends I made around. So it’s a win.

I don’t regret my decision, despite the additional debt that hangs over my head. lol.

(It seems as though I still haven’t explained the reason for my leave clearly. I guess it’s one of those things that’s difficult to explain properly.)

Fyza.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

